Writersflock

Discipline

Posted in Living, Musings by mcarmen5 on 10/08/2010

On the conveyor belt and about to head into the fire pit!  Just found these silly pics of my two furry loves and thought they would be fun to share.  This is what discipline (and determination!) looks like: the ability to hold out for the big reward even if it’s literally so deliciously close!

Let’s hope I’ll have plenty of focused discipline and determination tomorrow morning :)

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Tagged with:

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nathan Marcello said, on 10/08/2010 at 4:47 pm

    We tried this with our Pug, but he lacked the nose and the patience for it haha

    • mlissm said, on 12/21/2010 at 2:15 am

      Aww, no! One of my best friends has a chug (pug & chihuahua mix) who has more of a pug face, so I totally get you. I taught him to “wait for it” by placing the treat on one of his paws or on his forehead. It works! He gets excited when I give him the cue and he’s loves the routine. Give that a try and please let me know how it goes! :)

  2. hannah said, on 10/08/2010 at 9:00 pm

    Absolutely adorable! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pablo Garcia said, on 10/09/2010 at 5:55 am

    Haha, they are cute! A friend and I were having a discussion around discipline last night actually. Discipline is, in our opinion, what differentiates the most successful from the somewhat successful (in most cases). For example, in college, if you have the discipline to sit for 4-6 hours a day without any distractions and study, you will most likely get a 3.0-3.5 gpa, maybe even higher depending on the major. But, in my opinion, I think many college students lack this skill.

    Most college students could party every night if they had the discipline to study the next day and forgo napping and facebook and many other distractions. I think its true even in work. If you can discipline yourself to focus on a task, you will be able to complete well and efficiently.

    And I think that its hard to be disciplined when we multitask. Multitasking doesn’t let us put our full attention on one thing which can take away from the information we take in, what we remember, and how good a job we will actually do. And people tend to mistake multitasking as listening to music or streaming a movie, and doing work. I think these things tug on the same processing mechanisms your brain is using and won’t allow you to work as quickly (it creates a bottle neck in a sense). Another way to look at it, is, like a computer processor, but with the things that keep grabbing our attention, those are processes running in the background. What happens when you have too many processes running in the background of your computer?

    I’m a big proponent of working on one task at a time (for example set 2 hours aside for 3 tasks, versus working on all for for 8 hours).

    Wooo went a rant!

    Is today your test? If so, good luck! [im sure luck won’t play much of a roll in your success with the test though :)].

    • mlissm said, on 12/21/2010 at 2:22 am

      Pablo!!

      I love your comments and I always enjoy reading them! :) I’m finishing up my applications this month and I’m thrilled to be almost done. Thank you for the good luck – I’m satisfied with my test results, so all the positive energy (and studying) must have paid off. And I totally agree with you and your friend about discipline. I set aside hours and hours of quiet time to solidly study for the LSAT. No distractions, no Facebook, no music – just a simple timer so I could work on pacing. I’ve definitely noticed that I do much better when I concentrate on one task and in fact, I find that I get things done much faster and more effectively when doing so… I’m so efficient that I end up getting these multiple tasks done in less time than trying to get them all done at once :) Your computer processor analogy is a great one. I’ve actually read a couple of studies that demonstrate what you described, that our minds work best when we concentrate on one task fully. I hope to start posting more frequently soon and I’m looking forward to you sharing your thoughts/insights!


Leave a Reply

