Writersflock

Strawberry Swing

Posted in Food by mcarmen5 on 05/15/2010

image

{fresh strawberries & vanilla-honey yogurt}

May is perhaps one of my favorite months of the year.  The flowers are blooming, the weather is lovely, and ripe summer fruit is just right around the corner.

I love fruit, and hardly ever go a day without at least a piece of it.  Summer fruit, in particular, are always highly anticipated because they remind me of childhood summers.  My Mom and I would go fruit-picking and the car rides home were always delicious.  I really enjoyed those road trips out of the city and into the peaceful farmlands of the California Valley,  and I can think of few things better than a perfect peach, ruby red raspberries or sweet, juicy watermelon.

Though it’s still a bit early in the season, these cute strawberries were too irresistible to pass up at the market today.  They are petite but they pack a punch in flavor — unlike some of the giant, tasteless steroidal strawberries we so often see today (mostly seen out of season).  This is how a strawberry is supposed to look, people!

This is one of my favorite ways to enjoy a sweet snack when the craving hits.  It’s simple, healthful and delicious.  Now, off to watch Sherlock Holmes on DVD — love Robert Downey Jr.!

Tagged with: , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. CogysessDenna said, on 06/08/2010 at 12:46 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian

    • mlissm said, on 12/21/2010 at 2:28 am

      Thank you! I hope to keep my posts fun and interesting for you. Thank you for your support! :)


Leave a Reply

