Writersflock

I Choo-Choo-Choose You

Posted in Musings by mcarmen5 on 02/05/2010

The Simpsons, "I Love Lisa"

Dear Readers,

Letter-writing “experts” often warn against opening missives with “Sorry” or “I’m sorry,” because it apparently sets a negative tone throughout the rest of the letter — no matter how heartfelt the apology or how deep the contrition.

I have a knack for not listening to good advice…Oops.   So with that said, sorry for not having updated in over a month!  My schedule has grown increasingly hectic with more hours at work and towards studying for this demon also known as the LSAT. I know, that’s not good enough. I should know better.

The good news: I have plenty of half-written drafts and I can’t wait to complete and share them.   The first is a Valentine for you.  While I give love and hugs rather generously all other 364 days of the year, I still enjoy getting festive for a holiday — even if it is a Hallmark one. Who doesn’t want to celebrate love?!

Here are some cards that I hurriedly whipped up this evening.  They’re super simple and minimalist (which is very ‘me’), but they are really the result of two-parts packed schedule and one part impending deadline (these toddler-inspired glitter pieces of ‘art’ need to be mailed soon).  You might be able to tell that I got a bit antsy with my time and patience by the almost illegible, giant-sized ‘XOXO’ outlier.  My 5-year old cousin can make better Valentines that put mine to shame…. but hey, it’s the thoughtful note inside that counts!  :)

Enjoy!

PS, Ralph Wiggum is one of the funniest, most underrated characters on The Simpsons, one of my favorite TV shows ever.  How could you not love him?  He’s silly in such an endearing way.  It breaks my heart every time I watch this clip, but I applaud Lisa for what she does, because that’s definitely what I’ve done and would have done.  I tend to have a soft spot for underdogs, even if there are awkward consequences that follow!

So, by way of Ralph, “I choo-choo-choose you!

pink glitter and glue save the day

glittery "love dust" and everything nice

If I get some free time this weekend, I might be able to make ones that use a little more effort. I’d like to make one with a gemstone as a star on navy card-stock that says, “Honey, you are my shining star.”  Lyrics from oldies are so useful!

Leave a Reply

