Writersflock

Eggs Royale

Posted in Food by mcarmen5 on 12/27/2009

I decided to serve a Christmas brunch as a gift to the family and to create a more festive atmosphere this year.  Seeing as we were all sent into a lazy and relaxing food coma similar to post-Thanksgiving meals, it’s safe to say that Christmas Brunch 2009 was a satisfying success.  We ate by the fire in the family room as gentle rays of winter sun streamed in from the windows…. mmm, bliss.

Since my whole brunch obsession pretty much revolves around the Eggs Benedict (I never fail to order one at brunch), I ventured to make my own. Full disclosure: Prior to this meal, I’ve never, ever poached an egg before.  Actually, I’ve never even poached anything before.  (Looking back, I’m surprised that I was so optimistic Operation Brunch wouldn’t turn into a disaster!)   All I can say is, thank goodness of YouTube videos and talented big brothers!  I’m also obsessed with lox (been eating bagel and lox pretty much every morning), I opted to make an Eggs Royale, which is an Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon, red onion and capers topped with hollandaise (and sometimes a sprinkle of paprika).

It was quickly decided that a fresh hollandaise would be a much better alternative to store-bought.   It was my first time making it but the recipe is surprisingly simple and the whole process only took about 15 minutes. Gotta love Tyler Florence!  I wish I had taken “after” pictures of the finished product, but the eggs royale were pretty much wolfed down as soon as they were off the stove.  Good thing we still had plenty of champagne flowing and mimosas waiting!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Phyllis said, on 01/03/2010 at 9:57 pm

    mm, looks yummy!


Leave a Reply

