Writersflock

Getting Cozy

Posted in Living, Style by mcarmen5 on 12/15/2009

West Elm

Full disclosure:  I tend to work on multiple projects in case one ever gets boring.   I have yet to finish my home office space, but I’ve already started a new project, the bed.  I picked up a new Ralph Lauren down comforter during a big sale last week to replace an old one.  To celebrate, I’m outfitting it to my heart’s desire!

I’ve always wanted classic border-stitched bedding, and most of the sets sold in San Francisco are way overpriced ($1,000 for a duvet? Oh, sure, no problem!).  Luckily, I found a great steal on Overstock.  This design happens to always sell out, so I was glad that I happened to be browsing at 6am (early morning meeting) with it freshly restocked.  Early bird gets the worm!  I was so giddy the Monday blues just melted away.

Hotel Collection, 300TC cotton sateen duvet ($50)

I originally had my eye on blue since it seemed like the perfect combination in the summertime, but decided that I prefer versatility — something that would get along well with other colors I might later introduce.  So, I’m thinking either black or platinum.  Platinum is more subtle, but black would look bold and clean with a white/cream palette.

Any suggestions?

As for other lust-worthy linens, here are some similar sets:

"Hotel Original" collection, Frette, $400

Please excuse the sexy mannequin to the left, this was a store display from Frette in San Francisco.  That pale periwinkle looks so calming even against a black headboard and black accents.  I think this would make morning battles to get out of bed even tougher.

"Grand Hotel" collection, Scheuer Linens, $200

The Ivory & Sea Mist and Ivory & Ivory are two of my favorite colors from this collection.  200 TC cotton percale, which means it’s an easy-care finish without sacrificing softness.

Italian Percale by Hudson Park, Bloomingdale's, $200

I like the change of navy over black, and if you wait patiently for a sale, this could be a great steal! Also comes in white, black and champagne.

"Adrift" by Barbara Barry, Bloomingdale's, $200

Just wanted to throw this in. I really like the dusty-rose metallic accent, which I think makes a really flattering and elegant complement in both color and texture to a feminine, white/cream palette.

By the way, how cozy is that  soft gray cable-knit throw up there in the first pic?  My coworker and I were practically drooling over it.  I’m really digging soft textures that are reminiscent of cozy over-sized sweaters.  Ralph Lauren has a great cashmere cable-knit throw and a wool one that you could pick up at Bloomingdale’s.   Pottery Barn has a cute version, too.

Leave a Reply

