Writersflock

Fabulous Favorites

Posted in Beauty by mcarmen5 on 11/28/2009

I’m a hopeless product/beauty junkie.

Despite my best efforts to “zen” out my room and life with what seems like perpetual decluttering, I always find myself seduced by cute packaging and pretty or fun colors.  Even after several massive overhauls, my drawers, shelves, baskets and makeup pouches are still spilling over.

But the real jewels in the pile are my favorite classics… the good ol’ faithfuls.  Here are a few:

Dove is a classic.  1/4 moisture in a soft, non-irritating, good-for-your-skin bar.

OPI Polish

Clean & Classic.  Polished.  Put-together.  The perfect milky-pink.  Giada de Laurentiis apparently wears this on every episode.

NARS Blush

I know, I know… but it’s a cult favorite (or maybe super beauty phenomenon?) for a reason.  It gives the perfect candle-lit glow and it lasts forever since a little goes a long way.  I’ve been using it for years and still love and enjoy it.  Plus, it’s in a sleek and pretty case.

MAC Eye Kohl

Although I’ve since ventured off and tried a slew of different eyeliners (sparkly, electric-hued, and just about every shade of brown and black in high and low brands), I still have a soft spot for this unbelievably soft but pretty shade of deep bronze.

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock

Do not let my tan skin fool you.  I have the most sun-sensitive, easy to burn & tan skin of everyone I know.  No one believes me until they see just how toasty I get after spending a mere 10 minutes in direct sunlight.  It didn’t occur to me that I might want to consider sun protection (you know, just a “minor” suggestion) until a couple years ago — well after major sun damage had been done.  Before then, I spent nearly everyday of my life outdoors or on an open track field (yay, wrinkles!).  Dry-touch is everything it promises to be: sheer, light, non-greasy, and barely noticeable while packing in good SPF protection.  An absolute essential for anyone.

What are some of your favorites or trusty classics?

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

